(Ratified by the General Assembly held on June 16, 2021)

Mònica Pereña, presidentEnric Serra, secretaryMaite Melero, vocal
Emili BoixMarina MassaguerJosep Cru
Montserrat MontagutLlorenç Comajoan

Since it was registered as an association in 2001, Linguapax has been chaired by Fèlix Martí from 2001 to 2004 and from 2012 to 2014, by  Agustí Colomines from 2004 to 2008, by Miquel Àngel Essomba from 2010 to 2012, by Carme Arenas from 2014 to 2016, and finally by Mònica Pereña.

Advisory Board

Honorary Chairperson: Vigdís Finnbogadóttir


  • Anvita Abbi – Centre for Linguistics, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India
  • Matthias Brenzinger – CALDI (Centre for African Language Diversity), Cape Town, South-Africa
  • Malika Ahmed Zaid Chertouk – Mouloud Mammeri University, Tizi Ouzou, Algeria
  • Susana Cuevas – National Institute of Anthropology and History, Mexico
  • Denis Cunningham – International Federation of Language Teacher Associations, Australia
  • Maya David – Faculty of Language and Linguistics, University of Malaya, Malaysia
  • Ganesh Devy – Dhairubhai Amabni Institute, India
  • Alícia Fuentes-Calle – University of York, United Kingdom
  • François Grin – professor, University of Geneva, Switzerland
  • Bjorn Jernudd – independent consultant , Sweden and USA
  • M. Carme Junyent – University of Barcelona and Study Group of Threatened Languages (Grup d’Estudi de Llengües Amenaçades (GELA)), Barcelona
  • Larry Kimura – University of Hawai’i
  • Jon Landaburu – Department of Culture, Colombia
  • Joseph Lo Bianco – Melbourne Graduate School of Education
  • Luis Enrique López – director of PACE (Programa para el Avance de la Calidad Educativa), Guatemala
  • Dónall Ó Riagáin – independent consultant, Ireland
  • Robert Phillipson – Professor Emeritus, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
  • Joseph Poth – independent consultant, France
  • Joseph Sheils – independent consultant, France
  • Tove Skutnabb-Kangas – Åbo Akademi University,  Finland (retired)
  • Carles Torner –  Executive Director, PEN International,  UK
  • Tasaku Tsunoda – University of Tokyo
  • Fernand de Varennes – Dean, Faculty of Law, Moncton University, Canada
  • Jean-Jacques Van Vlasselaer – Carleton University, Canada
  • Kathryn Woolard – Professor Emerita, University of Califòrnia, San Diego


Linguapax has steadily expanded its international activities and in 2006 formally established the Linguapax International Network consisting of 7 delegations.