International Linguapax Award

2020 Terms of reference

  1. Linguapax International calls for nominations for the Linguapax International Award on a yearly basis to honour actions carried out in different fields in favour of the preservation of linguistic diversity, revitalization and reactivation of linguistic communities and the promotion of multilingualism.
  2. Individuals, entities or collectives of the academic community and civil society whose actions fit the descriptions of the aforementioned areas can be nominated as candidates. Persons linked with Linguapax structures or delegations are not eligible.
  3. When you apply, please include the following information:
    – Person data of the applicant.
    – Personal data and CV of the candidate. If the candidate is an organization, a short description of the project, its main goals and track record are also needed.
    – Cover letter for the candidacy.
    – Recommendation letters for the candidacy (a minimum of 2).
    – Justification of the candidacy: accomplished projects or in progress, lines of research, participation and/or involvement in communities…
  4. Nominations must be sent to Linguapax either by email to or by certified mail to Linguapax International, C/Maria Aurèlia Capmany, 14-16, 08001 Barcelona (Spain) before January 31st, 2020. Please mention “Linguapax International Award 2020″ in the mail subject or on the envelope.
  5. The nominations will be treated with full confidentiality.
  6. The jury of the Linguapax International Award is formed of the members of the Linguapax Board and international Advisory Board as well as the delegates of the Linguapax International Network.
  7. The decision of the jury will be unquestionable. Exceptionally, the jury might decide to award two candidates.
  8. The 2020 International Linguapax Award is endowed with 6000 €.
  9. The 2020 Linguapax Award winner will be proclaimed on February 21st 2020.


Previous laureates

  • 2020 Award, to Marja-Liisa Olthuis (Finland)
  • 2019 Award, to Larry Kimura (Hawaii)
  • 2018 Award, to BASAbali (Indonesia)
  • 2017 Award, to Matthias Brenzinger (Germany, South-Africa)
  • 2016 Award, to the Yambirrpa Schools/Djarrma Action Group of the Yolngu Community (Australia) and International and Heritage Languages Association (Canada)
  • 2015 Award, to Xavier Albó (Bolivia)
  • 2014 Award, to Valencian School (Valencia)
  • 2013 Award, to Ledikasyon pu Travayer (Mauritius)
  • 2012 Award, to Jon Landaburu Illarramendi (Colombia)
  • 2011 Award, to Ganesh Devy (India) and Indigenous Centre for Intercultural Research of Tierradentro (Colombia)
  • 2010 Award, to Miquel Siguan (Catalonia) and Robert Phillipson (UK)
  • 2009 Award, to Katerina Te Heikoko Mataira (New Zealand)
  • 2008 Award, toNeville Alexander (South Africa)
  • 2007 Award, to Maya Khemlani David (Malaysia)
  • 2006 Award, to Natividad Mutumbajoy (Colombia)
  • 2005 Award, to Maurice Tadadjeu (Cameroon)
  • 2004 Award, to Fernand de Varennes (Canada) and Joshua Fishman (USA)
  • 2003 Award, to Aina Moll ( Balearic Islands) and Tove Skutnabb Kangas (Finland/Denmark)
  • 2002 Award, to Bartomeu Melià (Paraguay) and Jerszy Smolicz (Australia/Poland)